Cookies-law

Cookies help us to bring you our services at overunity.com . If you use this website and our services you declare yourself okay with using cookies .More Infos here:
http://www.overunity.com/5553/privacy-policy/
If you do not agree with storing cookies, please leave this website now. Many thanks for your understanding.
Amazon Warehouse Deals ! Now even more Deep Discounts ! Check out these great prices on slightly used or just opened once only items.I always buy my gadgets via these great Warehouse deals ! Highly recommended ! Many thanks for supporting OverUnity.com this way.

User Menu

FireMatch

FireMatch

CCKnife

CCKnife

Poplamp

poplamp

CCTool

CCTool

LEDTVforSale

Magpi Magazine

Magpi Magazine Free Rasberry Pi Magazine

Battery Recondition

Battery Recondition

OverUnity Book

overunity principles book

Arduino

Ultracaps

YT Subscribe

movieclipsfree

movie clips free

Gravity Machines

Tesla-Ebook

Magnet Secrets

Lindemann Video

Navigation

Products

Statistics


  • *Total Posts: 482266
  • *Total Topics: 14218
  • *Online Today: 44
  • *Most Online: 103
(December 19, 2006, 11:27:19 PM)
  • *Users: 6
  • *Guests: 103
  • *Total: 109

Facebook

Author Topic: Using CNC as a 3D Printer  (Read 14505 times)

Offline CLaNZeR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1059
    • Overunity.org.uk
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #15 on: June 04, 2014, 11:44:33 PM »
A couple of years ago I converted one of my CNC machines to a 3D printer and posted the step by step on my forums.

Your welcome to check it out.
http://www.ukcnc.info/forums/forumdisplay.php?8-RouterStrap-3D-printer-using-your-own-CNC-machine

Was a good way to get to grips with 3D printing and what is involved. Software/firmware has moved on a bit since then though.
You soon realise that converting a CNC machine can work, but so slow and noisy using ball screws. You will soon want to move onto rapid movements using belts.


Then moved onto dedicated prototype printer but using commercial linear components.
http://www.ukcnc.info/forums/dprinter.php

We use this prototype daily for printing stepper covers etc etc.

This year we are going to release a more compact design 3D printer and also a Scara Arm 3D Printer which is cool to watch.

Cheers

Sean.

Free Energy | searching for free energy and discussing free energy

Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #15 on: June 04, 2014, 11:44:33 PM »

Offline Marsing

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #16 on: June 05, 2014, 07:51:08 AM »
Yes you did.  How did someone manage to hook interrupt zero in a Windows machine?

AFAIR. the only way, he must deal with very ugly language, needs about 5-10 minutes each time to compile and test that driver (win-driver), also single space unseen from text editor can cause blue screen. "Windows Driver Kit" is free download from windows to experiment with it.  there is a tool included in WDK where we can see how many int0  fired in seconds, normally, it fires at 100 hz or 1khz, while when mach3 was running ,we would see 25khz or 30khz. i read about real time OS which maybe provide exclusive access to real time timing but never try it.

Free Energy | searching for free energy and discussing free energy


Offline TommeyLReed

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 435
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #17 on: June 05, 2014, 10:52:16 AM »
My cnc is running on the Lenux system, I believe it's better then Mach3 on windows.

I would not have a problem with 3D printing.

Tom

Offline MarkE

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6831
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #18 on: June 05, 2014, 11:55:24 AM »
Windows goes off with long delays so often and easily that it's pretty rough to do anything with it that can't tolerate multiple seconds of latency at least now and again.  You are a lot better off with any version of Linux.  There are real-time Linux distributions out there that can make Linux pretty tight.


Offline memoryman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #19 on: June 05, 2014, 03:38:04 PM »
Because Windows is not a deterministic system, Delta Tau and others use a separate processor on their motion control products. Windows is used as a HMI only.
I have Linux cnc installed but not used it.
There was a 'PC' based cnc by MDSI (bought up by Tecumseh) but it was more expensive than Delta Tau, Galil  and similar companies.
ASAIK, Mach3 is a fine product for all but high end machines.

Free Energy | searching for free energy and discussing free energy

Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #19 on: June 05, 2014, 03:38:04 PM »
Sponsored links:




Offline TommeyLReed

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 435
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #20 on: June 07, 2014, 04:43:18 AM »
This is my experimental extruder/temperature controller.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IBB015Mx-o
« Last Edit: June 07, 2014, 01:24:00 PM by TommeyLReed »

Offline lancaIV

  • elite_member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1927
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #21 on: June 07, 2014, 09:42:24 AM »
I want to get a 3D-machine which errect the www.jovoto.com https://www.jovoto.com/projects/300house/ideas
                                         IPOD https://www.jovoto.com/projects/300house/ideas/12491
                                         idea in several hours !


                                             This would be a comercial solution:
           http://www.impactlab.net/2014/05/28/buy-a-3d-house-printer-for-16000-print-a-house/


                 After 50 years "automatic shelter production machine" I want my home ready  ::) ;) ;D 

http://worldwide.espacenet.com/publicationDetails/biblio?FT=D&date=19650303&DB=EPODOC&locale=en_EP&CC=GB&NR=985099A&KC=A&ND=1

and not M-I-B-Y http://worldwide.espacenet.com/publicationDetails/mosaics?CC=DE&NR=19938141A1&KC=A1&FT=D&date=20010301&DB=EPODOC&locale=en_EP

wmbr
        OCWL


p.s.:
probably this infos help to find the best /cheapest-saviest solution
http://www.overunity.de/206/freedom-housecar-project/#.U5LDztner1E beginning with answer 4
 

Free Energy | searching for free energy and discussing free energy

Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #21 on: June 07, 2014, 09:42:24 AM »
Sponsored links:




Offline TommeyLReed

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 435
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #22 on: June 09, 2014, 03:57:00 AM »
This is a update on my 3D Printer extruder/heater controller test run:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xGCb4drbBM4

I have to update my heating tip, this was a 4mm tip from a 1/4 bolt.

I have brass I can machine and 3mm drill bit.

Tom

Offline TommeyLReed

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 435
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #23 on: June 09, 2014, 07:39:31 PM »
This is my extruder super high temperature tip design for plastic or liquid metal.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIoUs6mnFHs

tom

Offline memoryman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #24 on: June 09, 2014, 08:13:59 PM »
Hi Tommey. I like the idea of using a sparkplug. Did you say that drilled the hole 6 mm or .6 mm? I use .16 mm in my (used a carbide pcb bit); how well would that drill?

Free Energy | searching for free energy and discussing free energy

Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #24 on: June 09, 2014, 08:13:59 PM »
Sponsored links:




Offline TommeyLReed

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 435
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #25 on: June 09, 2014, 08:40:54 PM »
I had a .6mm from my last tip, now it's .4mm.

Thanks...

Offline memoryman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #26 on: June 09, 2014, 08:53:54 PM »
Of course I screwed up; meant 0.4 mm, .016".


Offline TommeyLReed

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 435
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #27 on: June 09, 2014, 09:01:50 PM »
I think you could drill that small, but also it may put a load on the feed and just jam up.

 tom

Offline memoryman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
Re: Using CNC as a 3D Printer
« Reply #28 on: June 09, 2014, 09:13:59 PM »
I think you could drill that small, but also it may put a load on the feed and just jam up.

 tom
Has not been an issue with my Ultimaker.

Free Energy | searching for free energy and discussing free energy


 

Share this topic to your favourite Social and Bookmark site

Please SHARE this topic at: